The Australian National Flag

Australian FlagThe Australian National Flag is Australia’s foremost national symbol. It was first flown in 1901 and has become an expression of Australian identity and pride.

The Australian National Flag flies over the federal and state parliaments. The flag is paraded by our defence forces and displayed around the country at sporting events and by service organisations, schools, community groups and private citizens.

The Australian National Flag has three elements on a blue background: the Union Jack, the Commonwealth Star and the Southern Cross.

The Union Jack in the upper left corner (or canton) acknowledges the history of British settlement.

Below the Union Jack is a white Commonwealth or Federation star. It has seven points representing the unity of the six states and the territories of the Commonwealth of Australia. The star is also featured on the Commonwealth Coat of Arms.

The Southern Cross is shown on the fly of the flag in white. This constellation of five stars can be seen only from the southern hemisphere and is a reminder of Australia’s

Further information: www.itsanhonour.gov.au/symbols/flag.cfm

Other Australian Flags

Australian Aboriginal Flag

Australian Aboriginal Flag

Torres Strait Islander Flag

Torres Strait Islander Flag

Further information about these and other Australian Flags can be found at: www.itsanhonour.gov.au/symbols/otherflag.cfm

Large Flags

I am entitled to distribute certain large flags as described below to the following eligible recipients:

  • schools, local councils, churches and other non-profit or benevolent community organisations, associations and groups which have occasion to display the flag from flag poles on their premises, or which display the flag on special public occasions, or in halls or meeting rooms;
  • community organisations, Australian exchange students and humanitarian aid workers undertaking official visits or duties overseas; and
  • a family member, or an ex-service organisation representative, for use at the funeral of an Australian war veteran.

Flags may not be made available under this program to businesses or commercial enterprises.

Large Flag Types and Sizes

The National Flag, the Aboriginal Flag and the Torres Strait Islander Flag are available for presentation, to eligible recipients in the following sizes:

  • 1,370 mm x 685 mm;
  • 1,830 mm x 915 mm;
  • 2,400 mm x 1,200 mm; and
  • 3,660 mm x 1,830 mm.

The Red Ensign (1,370 mm x 685 mm and 1,830 mm x 915 mm) is also available for presentation to service-related groups.

The Royal Australian Air Force Ensign and the Australian White Ensign are not included in this entitlement.

Receiving a flag

If you are interested in receiving or replacing a flag then please contact my office.